Republicans Hold House While Democrats Keep Grip On Senate And White House | THE JEENYUS CORNER

By Marshall D. Culpepper

After a long and often times, highly contested election cycle, the balance of power on Capitol Hill remains essentially the same.  Despite failing to capture the White House, Republicans were able to maintain control over the House by winning 231 seats compared to 186 on the Democratic side of the isle.

Key races in the House included:

  • U.S. House: Arizona District 02- Republican challenger, Martha McSally narrowly defeating the incumbent Democrat, Ron Barber by just 386 votes.
  • U.S. House: Kentucky 06- Democratic Incumbent Ben Chandler (47%) fell short to GOP Challenger Andy Barr (50%).
  • U.S. House: New York 27- Republican Chris Collins (51%) edged out Incumbent Dem. Kathy Hochul (49%)
  • U.S. House: North Carolina 08- Challenger Richard Hudson (R) earned 54% of the vote over Incumbent Larry Kissell (D) who had 46%
  • U.S. House: Florida 18- GOP Star and Incumbent Allen West falls short to Democrat Patrick Murphy. The challenger scored 160,328 votes to West’s 157,872.

Pro-Liberty Congressman, Justin Amash (R-MI) will serve a second term in the House

  • U.S. House: Michigan 03- Justin Amash (R) who is a rising star of the liberty movement is projected as winner over his Democratic challenger, Steve Pestka. 58% to 39% with an estimated 72% of votes counted.

Congresswoman Michelle Bachmann (R-MN) retains her seat.

  • U.S. House: Wisconsin 01- Despite losing the white house bid, GOP Vice-President Nominee Paul Ryan easily defeated the challenger,  Rob Zerban. 55% to 43%.
  • U.S. House: Conservative GOP Super Star, Michele Bachmann, is the projected winner over Democrat Jim Graves.  This race was a close one, decided by 3,230 votes

Despite failing to capture the House, the Democrat party managed to keep their grip on the U.S. Senate.  The newly re-elected President’s party picked up 21 seats giving them a total of 51.  Republicans managed to win 8 seats, bringing their total to 45.

Key races in the Senate included:

  • U.S. Senate: Minnesota- Republican Challenger, Kurt Bills, fell very short to Democratic Incumbent Amy Klobuchar (65% to 31%)
  • U.S. Senate: Connecticut- Chris Murphy (D) came out on top over Linda McMahon, wife of WWE CEO Vince McMahon. (55% to 43%)
  • U.S. Senate: Massachusetts- GOP Incumbent Scott Brown was soundly defeated by Democratic Challenger Elizabeth Warren. (54%-46%)
  • U.S. Senate: Missouri-  Claire McCaskill (D) handily defeated her controversial GOP Challenger, Todd Akin. (55% to 39%)
  • U.S. Senate: Nebraska-  Democrat Bob Kerrey lost to the GOP’s Deb Fischer (58% to 42%)
  • U.S. Senate: Utah- Longtime GOP Incumbent, Orrin Hatch secured a huge victory over the Democratic challenger, Scott Howell. (65% t0 30%)
  • U.S. Senate: Arizona-  Jeff Flake (R) is the projected winner over Democrat, Richard Carmona. (50% to 45%)
  • U.S. Senate: Texas- Republican Ted Cruz, who is backed by the Liberty Movement, defeated Democrat Paul Sadler. (57% to 40%)

    Ted Cruz has been elected to represent Texas in the U.S. Senate

  • U.S. Senate: Vermont-  Left leaning Independent, and self-titled “Democratic Socialist”, Bernie Sanders successfully defended his Senate seat against the Republican challenger, John MacGovern in an overwhelming victory. (71% to 25%)
  • U.S. Senate: Maine-  Independent Angus King (53%) came out on top against Republican Charlie Summers (30%) and Democrat Cynthia Dill (13%) in a three-way race to fill the seat vacated by retiring Senator Olympia Snowe.

In the presidential race, Challenger Mitt Romney was defeated by President Barack Obama in a clear victory for the Incumbent POTUS.  Obama garnered not only the electoral college vote, but the popular vote as well with 59,182,257 votes (50%) to Romney’s 56,762,735 (48%).   Former Mass. Governor and GOP Presidential nominee, Mitt Romney gained 206 votes in the electoral college, while President Obama secured 303 to push him well past the 270 mark required for election.

The 2013 Presidential Inauguration will be held in Washington DC on Monday, January 21, 2013. By law, the President must take his Oath of Office on January 20th before noon. Since the 20th falls on a Sunday, there will be a private ceremony on that date and the public ceremony will be held the following day. A week of festivities will include the Presidential Swearing in Ceremony, Inaugural Address, Inaugural Parade and a night of Inaugural Balls and galas honoring the new President of the United States.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s